The Importance of Professional Development

I was honored this year to be asked once again to blog for the AASA National Conference on Education #NCE17. This excellent conference is the one I make sure I get to year after year. With its rich content, keynote speakers who are relevant to my needs, and colleagueship, I could not find a more fitting setting for my own professional development.

This year’s conference was titled: Leadership- Personalized, Accountable, Visionary. We had keynote speakers such as Ravi ,James Carville and Mary Matalin, and Jamie Vollmer. There were dozens of sessions for me to focus my own learning (I chose to focus on support for principals for a high achieving district). There were opportunities for colleagueship (Pennsylvania, Arizona, New Hampshire, California, Oregon were all places with superintendents I talked with).

The next step, of course, is to sift through all the nuggets of information I received these past two days and determine what will improve my own practice as a leader of learning. This is always the goal of professional development- how will it improve my own practice. In RNESU, we have been working to reconstruct how we provide PD to our faculty, with more choice and more voice while still focusing on how we will help all children achieve in the SU schools.

The key? Show up, absorb, reflect and then do!

